top of page
  • Writer's pictureSally Ferguson

Biodiversity/ South Downs




Petersfield Museum and Art Gallery have an open call needing submission by today.

I have been working on a very large meadow painting in oils ;over 150cmsx150 cms ;at UCA (over the summer I have used a couple of walls) and I thought this would be perfect ...but its too big (a small detail below). So this week I have created a South Downs painting using acrylic to fit the smaller scale ( 71 x71 cms) . The location is a spot on the south downs path my sister Gemma and I walked last summer with my dog Lola. All the creatures are native to the south Downs-I have a day flying moth - the Six Spot Burnett on a knapweed flower, theres a Marbled White butterfly , a Common Brimstone and a Meadow Brown. The larger beetle is the Spotted Longhorn Beetle, the small green one a ThickLegged flower beetle. almost hidden is the Common Red Soldier Beetle and the only one I haven't photographed is the Violet Ground Beetle. I am a biodiversity champion and art may well be my expression of this. As Rob says, Look, Learn, Love, Protect.



0 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page